Kids Book Series
  List of Series   List of Authors   Help
  Log In
 Find book series for age  at reading level    Advanced Search

Born Free Series
Author: Joy Adamson
Number of Books in Series: 3
Age Group: 10 years and up

Reading Level: AR Level 7.3
GLE 7.8
F&P/GRL estimated V
DRA estimated 70
Lexile® measure 1120L

Book 1 Summary: A woman describes her experiences raising an orphaned lion cub intending that it eventually return to the jungle.

Born Free Book List:

This series should be read in the correct order listed here.

Book 1: Born Free: A Lioness of Two Worlds
Ages 10 and up. January 1, 1960.
AR: 7.3 (9.0 Points, Quiz #731);  GLE: 7.8
Lexile measure: 1120L

Book 2: Living Free: The Story of Elsa and Her Cubs
Ages 10 and up. January 1, 1961.

Book 3: Forever Free
Ages 10 and up. January 1, 1962.

Book Sets: Sets of Up to 3 Books

Film/Television/Theatrical Adaptations:

1966 Live-Action Movie: Born Free
1972 Live-Action Movie: Living Free
1996 Live-Action TV Movie: Born Free: A New Adventure
Adapted into TV series that ran in 1974: Born Free


Mobile Version
Tablet Version
Recently Published
To Be Published Soon
Why Book Series
Buying Used Books
Site News
About Us
Support Us

Page Last Updated: November 29, 2020

Copyright © 2008-2023 WebData Technology Corporation. All rights reserved. Lexile® and the Lexile® logo are are trademarks of MetaMetrics, Inc., and are registered in the United States and abroad. The trademarks and names of other companies and products mentioned herein are the property of their respective owners. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the KidsBookSeries User Agreement and Privacy Policy. DISCLOSURE: We use affiliate links and may earn a commission if a purchase is made through them.