Kids Book Series
  List of Series   List of Authors   Help
  Log In
 Find book series for age  at reading level    Advanced Search

Succession Series
Also known or published as The Risen Empire
Author: Scott Westerfeld
Number of Books in Series: 2
Age Group: 14 years and up

Reading Level: AR Levels 7.1-7.7
GLE estimated 8.5-10.6
F&P/GRL estimated S-W
DRA estimated 70
Lexile® measure estimated 945L-1185L

Book 1 Summary: From the acclaimed author of Fine Prey, Polymorph, and Evolution's Darling (Philip K. Dick Award special citation and a New York Times Notable Book) comes a sweeping epic, The Risen Empire, Scott Westerfeld's dazzling hardcover debut.

The undead Emperor has ruled his mighty interstellar empire of eighty human worlds for sixteen hundred years. Because he can grant a form of eternal life, creating an elite known as the Risen, his power has been absolute. He and his sister, the Child Empress, who is eternally a little girl, are worshiped as living gods. No one can touch them.

Not until the Rix, machine-augmented humans who worship very different gods: AI compound minds of planetary extent. The Rix are cool, relentless fanatics, and their only goal is to propagate such AIs throughout the galaxy. They seek to end, by any means necessary, the Emperor's prolonged tyranny of one and supplant it with an eternal cybernetic dynasty of their own. They begin by taking the Child Empress hostage. Captain Laurent Zai of the Imperial Frigate Lynx is tasked with her rescue.

Separated by light-years, bound by an unlikely love, Zai and pacifist senator Nara Oxham must each in their own way, face the challenge of the Rix, and they each will hold the fate of the empire in their hands. The Risen Empire is the first great space opera of the twenty-first century.

Succession Book List:

These two books were meant to be one long novel but are published as two in the U.S. (and some other countries), so Book 1 ends abruptly and you should probably make sure you already have Book 2 in your physical possession before you finish Book 1.

Book 1: The Risen Empire
Ages 14 and up. March 1, 2003.
AR: 7.7 (17.0 Points, Quiz #134810)

Book 2: The Killing of Worlds
Ages 14 and up. October 1, 2003.
AR: 7.1 (17.0 Points, Quiz #134809)

Book Sets: Sets of Up to 2 Books

Other Websites for Additional Information:

Author Website for Scott Westerfeld


Mobile Version
Tablet Version
Recently Published
To Be Published Soon
Why Book Series
Buying Used Books
Site News
About Us
Support Us

Page Last Updated: November 29, 2020

Copyright © 2008-2024 WebData Technology Corporation. All rights reserved. Lexile® and the Lexile® logo are are trademarks of MetaMetrics, Inc., and are registered in the United States and abroad. The trademarks and names of other companies and products mentioned herein are the property of their respective owners. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the KidsBookSeries User Agreement and Privacy Policy. DISCLOSURE: We use affiliate links and may earn a commission if a purchase is made through them.