Kids Book Series
  List of Series   List of Authors   Help
  Log In
 Find book series for age  at reading level    Advanced Search

Once on This Island Series
Also known or published as Island
Author: Gloria Whelan
Number of Books in Series: 3
Age Group: 8 - 12 years

Reading Level: AR Levels 5.4-5.8
GLE 5.2-5.5
DRA 40
Lexile® measure 830L-880L

Book 1 Summary: Twelve-year-old Mary and her older brother and sister tend the family farm on Michigan's Mackinac Island while their father is away fighting the British in the War of 1812.

Once on This Island Book List:

This series should be read in the correct order listed here.

Book 1: Once on This Island
Ages 8-12. September 1, 1995.
AR: 5.4 (6.0 Points, Quiz #14799);  GLE: 5.2
F&P/GRL: S;  DRA: 40
Lexile measure: 830L

Book 2: Farewell to the Island
Ages 8-12. October 31, 1998.
AR: 5.6 (6.0 Points, Quiz #44815);  GLE: 5.5
Lexile measure: 880L

Book 3: Return to the Island
Ages 8-12. October 1, 2000.
AR: 5.8 (6.0 Points, Quiz #44827);  GLE: 5.3
Lexile measure: 870L

Book Sets: Sets of Up to 3 Books

List of Awards:

1996 Great Lakes Book Award

Other Websites for Additional Information:

Author Website for Gloria Whelan


Mobile Version
Tablet Version
Recently Published
To Be Published Soon
Why Book Series
Buying Used Books
Site News
About Us
Support Us

Page Last Updated: November 29, 2020

Copyright © 2008-2024 WebData Technology Corporation. All rights reserved. Lexile® and the Lexile® logo are are trademarks of MetaMetrics, Inc., and are registered in the United States and abroad. The trademarks and names of other companies and products mentioned herein are the property of their respective owners. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the KidsBookSeries User Agreement and Privacy Policy. DISCLOSURE: We use affiliate links and may earn a commission if a purchase is made through them.