Kids Book Series
  List of Series   List of Authors   Help
  Log In
 Find book series for age  at reading level    Advanced Search

The Black Stallion Series
Authors: Walter Farley, Steven Farley
Number of Books in Series: 25
Age Group: 8 - 12 years

Reading Level: AR Levels estimated 4.6-6.6
GLE estimated 4.2-8.6
F&P/GRL estimated N-R
DRA estimated 40-70
Lexile® measure 680L-930L
Companion/Related Series: Young Black Stallion, Big Black Horse, Little Black


Black Stallion Book List:

Most of these books are best read in order. However, the Island Stallion books start off as a separate storyline until the two horses meet in Book 15 (though the Island Stallion is briefly mentioned in Book 13 prior to that). Book 21 is a prequel that tells the backstory of the Black Stallion before we meet him in Book 1.

Jump to Books: 11-20  21-25  

Book 1: The Black Stallion
Ages 8-12. 1941.
Lexile measure: 680L

Book 2: The Black Stallion Returns
Ages 8-12. October 12, 1945.
Lexile measure: 850L

Book 3: Son of the Black Stallion
Ages 8-12. 1947.
Lexile measure: 880L

Book 4: The Island Stallion
Ages 8-12. 1948.
Lexile measure: 870L

Book 5: The Black Stallion and Satan
Ages 8-12. 1949.

Book 6: The Black Stallion's Blood Bay Colt
Ages 8-12. 1950.
Lexile measure: 870L

Book 7: The Island Stallion's Fury
Ages 8-12. August 12, 1951.
Lexile measure: 780L

Book 8: The Black Stallion's Filly
Ages 8-12. 1952.
Lexile measure: 810L

Book 9: The Black Stallion Revolts
Ages 8-12. August 12, 1953.
Lexile measure: 770L

Book 10: The Black Stallion's Sulky Colt
Ages 8-12. June 1, 1954.
Lexile measure: 780L
back to top    
Book 11: The Island Stallion Races
Ages 8-12. 1955.
Lexile measure: 830L

Book 12: The Black Stallion's Courage
Ages 8-12. November 12, 1956.
Lexile measure: 840L

Book 13: The Black Stallion Mystery
Ages 8-12. September 12, 1957.

Book 14: The Horse Tamer
Ages 8-12. August 12, 1958.

Book 15: The Black Stallion and Flame
Ages 8-12. August 12, 1960.
Lexile measure: 920L

Book 16: Man O' War
Ages 8-12. October 12, 1962.
Lexile measure: 880L

Book 17: The Black Stallion Challenged
Ages 8-12. September 12, 1964.
Lexile measure: 800L

Book 18: The Black Stallion's Ghost
Ages 8-12. September 12, 1969.
Lexile measure: 900L

Book 19: The Black Stallion and the Girl
Ages 8-12. August 12, 1971.
Lexile measure: 890L

Book 20: The Black Stallion Legend
Ages 8-12. September 12, 1983.
back to top    
Book 21: The Young Black Stallion
Ages 8-12. November 29, 1989.
Lexile measure: 930L

Book 22: The Black Stallion's Shadow
Ages 8-12. May 7, 1996.
Lexile measure: 700L

Book 23: The Black Stallion's Steeplechaser
Ages 8-12. August 26, 1997.
Lexile measure: 780L

Book 24: The Black Stallion and the Shape-shifter
Ages 8-12. 2009.
Lexile measure: 830L

Book 25: The Black Stallion and the Lost City
Ages 8-12. June 28, 2011.

Book Sets: Sets of Up to 25 Books

Film/Television/Theatrical Adaptations:

1979 Live-Action Movie: The Black Stallion
1983 Live-Action Movie: The Black Stallion Returns
2003 Live-Action Movie: The Young Black Stallion
Adapted into TV series that ran in 1990-1993: The Adventures of Black Stallion


Mobile Version
Tablet Version
Recently Published
To Be Published Soon
Why Book Series
Buying Used Books
Site News
About Us
Support Us

Page Last Updated: November 29, 2020

Copyright © 2008-2022 WebData Technology Corporation. All rights reserved. Lexile® and the Lexile® logo are are trademarks of MetaMetrics, Inc., and are registered in the United States and abroad. The trademarks and names of other companies and products mentioned herein are the property of their respective owners. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the KidsBookSeries User Agreement and Privacy Policy. DISCLOSURE: We use affiliate links and may earn a commission if a purchase is made through them.