Kids Book Series
  List of Series   List of Authors   Help
  Log In
 Find book series for age  at reading level    Advanced Search

Curious George Original Adventures Series
Authors: H. A. Rey, Margret Rey
Number of Books in Series: 7
Age Group: 3 - 8 years

Reading Level: AR Levels 2.6-4.1
GLE 2.1-3.1
DRA 16-30
Lexile® measure 400L-660L
Companion/Related Series: list of all Curious George series

Follow the adventures of a mischievous little monkey named George who lives in the city with the man in the yellow hat. The original series of 7+1 books were written and illustrated by the husband-wife team H. A. and Margret Rey. Additional books were later written and illustrated by a number of other people in a style similar to those original books. Those later books are often still credited to H.A. and Margret Rey on the book covers, but are not actually written by them. A number of those books were adapted from stories in the Curious George television series, some with Margret Rey as one of the editors. In addition, there are board books featuring the same beloved monkey character but are written for younger children (from babies to preschoolers). We have these books listed as 3 separate series to make it easier for some of our readers who might be looking specifically for one of the sub-sets.

Curious George Original Adventures Book List:

This series can be read in any order.

Publication Order

Book 1: Curious George
Ages 3-8. 1941.
AR: 2.6 (0.5 Point, Quiz #5509);  GLE: 2.4
F&P/GRL: K;  DRA: 18
Lexile measure: 400

Book 2: Curious George Takes a Job
Ages 3-8. 1947.
AR: 3.6 (0.5 Point, Quiz #40191);  GLE: 3.1
F&P/GRL: J;  DRA: 16
Lexile measure: 570L

Book 3: Curious George Rides a Bike
Ages 3-8. 1952.
AR: 4.1 (0.5 Point, Quiz #18666);  GLE: 2.9
F&P/GRL: K;  DRA: 18
Lexile measure: AD660L

Book 4: Curious George Gets a Medal
Ages 3-8. December 1, 1957.
AR: 4.1 (0.5 Point, Quiz #7611);  GLE: 3.1
F&P/GRL: L;  DRA: 20
Lexile measure: 570L

Book 5: Curious George Flies a Kite
Ages 3-8. 1958.
AR: 2.7 (0.5 Point, Quiz #409);  GLE: 2.1
F&P/GRL: K;  DRA: 18
Lexile measure: 510L

Book 6: Curious George Learns the Alphabet
Ages 3-8. September 9, 1963.
AR: 3.2 (0.5 Point, Quiz #43115);  GLE: 2.6
F&P/GRL: N;  DRA: 30
Lexile measure: 610L

Book 7: Curious George Goes to the Hospital
Ages 3-8. March 15, 1966.
AR: 3.4 (0.5 Point, Quiz #18665);  GLE: 2.6
F&P/GRL: J;  DRA: 16
Lexile measure: 520

Companion Book: Cecily G. and the 9 Monkeys
Ages 3-8. 1939.

Book Sets: Sets of Up to 7 Books

List of Awards:

Daytime Emmy Award for the TV series

Best Seller Lists:

USA Today best-seller list

Film/Television/Theatrical Adaptations:

1980: A Series of Animated Television Films featuring the Curious George character
2006 Animated Film: Curious George
2009 Animated Film: Curious George 2: Follow That Monkey!
Adapted into TV series that ran in 2006-2013: Curious George

Other Websites for Additional Information:

Official or Publisher Website for Curious George Original Adventures Series


Mobile Version
Tablet Version
Recently Published
To Be Published Soon
Why Book Series
Buying Used Books
Site News
About Us
Support Us

Page Last Updated: November 29, 2020

Copyright © 2008-2024 WebData Technology Corporation. All rights reserved. Lexile® and the Lexile® logo are are trademarks of MetaMetrics, Inc., and are registered in the United States and abroad. The trademarks and names of other companies and products mentioned herein are the property of their respective owners. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the KidsBookSeries User Agreement and Privacy Policy. DISCLOSURE: We use affiliate links and may earn a commission if a purchase is made through them.