Kids Book Series
  List of Series   List of Authors   Help
  Log In
 Find book series for age  at reading level    Advanced Search

My Side of the Mountain Series
Author: Jean Craighead George
Illustrator: Daniel San Souci
Number of Books in Series: 5
Age Group: 5 - 12 years

Reading Level: AR Levels 3.4-5.2
GLE 3.1-6.7
DRA 24-50
Lexile 390-810

Teenage boy Sam Gribley runs away from his home in New York City and learns to live in the wilderness with his pet falcon Frightful.

My Side of the Mountain Book List:

This series should be read in the correct order listed here.

Book 1: My Side of the Mountain
Ages 9-12. 1959.
AR: 5.2 (6 Points, Quiz #64);  GLE: 6.7
F&P/GRL: U;  DRA: 50

Book 2: On the Far Side of the Mountain
Ages 9-12. 1990.
AR: 4.5 (6 Points, Quiz #630);  GLE: 5.8
F&P/GRL: V;  DRA: 50

Book 3: Frightful's Mountain
Ages 9-12. September 1, 1999.
AR: 4.7 (8 Points, Quiz #2114);  GLE: 5.1
F&P/GRL: U;  DRA: 50

Book 4: Frightful's Daughter
Ages 5-9. September 16, 2002.
AR: 3.4 (0.5 Point, Quiz #63615);  GLE: 3.1
F&P/GRL: M;  DRA: 24

Book 5: Frightful's Daughter Meets the Baron Weasel
Ages 5-9. October 4, 2007.
AR: 4.3 (0.5 Point, Quiz #118475)

Book Sets: Sets of Up to 5 Books

List of Awards:

1960 Newbery Honor Book
American Library Association Notable Book
Hans Christian Andersen Award Honor Book

Film/Television/Theatrical Adaptations:

1969 Live-Action Movie: My Side of the Mountain

Other Websites for Additional Information:

Author Website for Jean Craighead George

Mobile Version
Tablet Version
Recently Published
To Be Published Soon
Why Book Series
Buying Used Books
Site News
About Us
Support Us

Page Last Updated: October 20, 2017

Copyright © 2008-2017 WebData Technology Corporation. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the KidsBookSeries User Agreement and Privacy Policy.