Kids Book Series
  List of Series   List of Authors   Help
  Log In
 Find book series for age  at reading level    Advanced Search

First Person Fiction Series
Authors: Edwidge Danticat, Ana Veciana-Suarez, John Son, Minfong Ho, Judith Ortiz Cofer
Number of Books in Series: 5
Age Group: 9 - 15 years

Reading Level: AR Levels 4.9-6.3
GLE 5.5-6.4
DRA 50-70
Lexile 840-1020

The books in this series are about the stories of young people who have immigrated to the United States to start their new lives, told in diary form.

First Person Fiction Book List:

This series can be read in any order.

Publication Order

Book 1: Behind the Mountains
Ages 10-15. October 1, 2002.
AR: 5.6 (5 Points, Quiz #65424);  GLE: 6.3
F&P/GRL: W;  DRA: 60

Book 2: Flight to Freedom
Ages 11-15. October 1, 2002.
AR: 5.6 (6 Points, Quiz #64502);  GLE: 6.2
F&P/GRL: W;  DRA: 60

Book 3: Finding My Hat
Ages 9-14. October 1, 2003.
AR: 4.9 (5 Points, Quiz #73253);  GLE: 5.5
F&P/GRL: Z;  DRA: 70

Book 4: The Stone Goddess
Ages 11-15. October 1, 2003.
AR: 6.3 (7 Points, Quiz #76595);  GLE: 5.9
F&P/GRL: W;  DRA: 60

Book 5: Call Me Maria
Ages 9-15. October 1, 2004.
AR: 5.6 (4 Points, Quiz #83118);  GLE: 6.4
F&P/GRL: V;  DRA: 50

Book Sets: Sets of Up to 5 Books

List of Awards:

2005 Américas Award Honorable Mention

Other Websites for Additional Information:

Author Website for Ana Veciana-Suarez
Author Website for Judith Ortiz Cofer

Mobile Version
Tablet Version
Recently Published
To Be Published Soon
Why Book Series
Buying Used Books
Site News
About Us
Support Us

Page Last Updated: November 24, 2016

Copyright © 2008-2016 WebData Technology Corporation. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the KidsBookSeries User Agreement and Privacy Policy.