Kids Book Series
  List of Series   List of Authors   Help
  Log In
 Find book series for age  at reading level    Advanced Search

The Dark Is Rising Sequence Series
Author: Susan Cooper
Number of Books in Series: 5
Age Group: 8 - 14 years

Reading Level: AR Levels 5.3-6.2
GLE 5.5-7.1
DRA 60
Lexile 830-930

Book 1 Summary: Three children on vacation in Cornwall find an ancient manuscript which sends them on a dangerous quest that entraps them in the eternal battle between the forces of the Light and the Dark.

Dark Is Rising Sequence Book List:

This series should be read in the correct order listed here.

Book 1: Over Sea, Under Stone
Ages 8-14. April 20, 1966.
AR: 5.4 (12 Points, Quiz #129);  GLE: 6.9
F&P/GRL: X;  DRA: 60

Book 2: The Dark Is Rising
Ages 8-14. April 1, 1973.
AR: 6.2 (13 Points, Quiz #109);  GLE: 7.1
F&P/GRL: X;  DRA: 60

Book 3: Greenwitch
Ages 8-14. June 1, 1974.
AR: 5.3 (6 Points, Quiz #11466);  GLE: 6.9
F&P/GRL: X;  DRA: 60

Book 4: The Grey King
Ages 8-14. July 1, 1975.
AR: 6.2 (9 Points, Quiz #33);  GLE: 5.5
F&P/GRL: X;  DRA: 60

Book 5: Silver on the Tree
Ages 8-14. July 1, 1977.
AR: 6 (14 Points, Quiz #6682);  GLE: 6.1
F&P/GRL: W;  DRA: 60

Book Sets: Sets of Up to 5 Books

List of Awards:

Newbery Honor Book
Carnegie Medal Honor
Newbery Medal

Film/Television/Theatrical Adaptations:

2007 Live-Action Movie: The Seeker: The Dark Is Rising

Other Websites for Additional Information:

Author Website for Susan Cooper

Mobile Version
Tablet Version
Recently Published
To Be Published Soon
Why Book Series
Buying Used Books
Site News
About Us
Support Us

Page Last Updated: November 24, 2016

Copyright © 2008-2016 WebData Technology Corporation. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners. Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the KidsBookSeries User Agreement and Privacy Policy.